Food On A Plate




UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews








La Brasserie - Cardiff, South Wales


Description

Sorry, no description available for La Brasserie.

Style of food on offer: French
Price Guide: £15.01 - £30.00

Review Summary

La Brasserie has received 8 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):

Overall:5.25
Food:5.25
Service:5.75
Ambiance:5.375

The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Fish the salmon NONE! Caesar Salad, Steak, moules

Address and Contact Details

60 St. Mary Street
Cardiff
South Wales
Wales

Telephone: 029 20 234134
Website: Click here

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  Visa
  MasterCard/Eurocard


Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for La Brasserie - Cardiff

Review added on Tue 21st May 2002

Outstanding informal brasserie. Good choice when wearing jeans.
Overall: 6
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Fish
Review added on Tue 10th Feb 2004

In my opinion this restaurant is very, very nice. The food was prepared and served to the highest standard and the price is resonable. The resataurant is an up market well presented place, yet they do not discriminate people who turn up wearing jeans. The ambience was also very good.
Overall: 10
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: the salmon
La Brasserie, Cardiff - review added on Fri 25th Jun 2004

I'm not usually one to complain but I took exception to the rude, offhand service we received here. The food is very average and certainly not value for money. (£10 for a breast of chicken, no extras just a breast of chicken with some pate in it). I have been to this restaurant twice because I believe in giving places a second chance but it did nothing to redeem itself. I do not recommend it to anyone!
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: NONE!
I couldn't comment on the food... I never received mine! - review added on Fri 27th May 2005

It's my 30th birthday and 5 of us went tonight. We ordered and everything seemed to be going well. 4 meals turned up...where was mine? The waitress said, and I quote "the salmon broke in two so the chef decided to cook a fresh one, would you like a glass of wine whilst you wait, it takes 4 minutes to cook from fresh"ok! so 5 minutes later my wine arrived, 15 mins later everyone had finished and I hadn't received anything. Along comes the manager. "Are you not eating?"So I explained that nothing had turned up and I didn't want to eat on my own so I'd cancel. When the bill came the waiter said that two of his team said I'd turned the salmon away!
Overall: 2
Food: 0
Service: 2
Ambiance: 0

Please don't waste your money... - review added on Sun 12th Feb 2006

Why the good people of Cardiff were bothering to spend any of their hard earned cash in this establishment is a mystery. The food is quite simply appalling...queue up to peer, mystified into a dirty chiller cabinet stuffed full of week old fish and tough cuts of cheap meat, have [someone] overcook it for you and then smother it in a vile tasting 'just add water' sauce...add any number of overpriced extras; frozen processed chips, pickled beetroot and the kind of pasta salad your nan might do and you have an all-round shockingly awful meal. The wine list is a trawl through the under £2.99 aisle at Tesco and they appear to believe that wrapping a bottle of Rioja in hessian makes it taste good.This place needs shutting down...please don't waste your money.
Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 4
Ambiance: 2

Dreadful - review added on Sun 19th Feb 2006

Yes, there is an eclectic service staff to set a certain ambience BUT (and having spent a great deal of time in conversation) they could not comprehend what was being asked. "The chicken with pepper sauce"- not too tasking!!? 4 different staff to bring the dish and STILL I received plain overcooked chicken, NO SAUCE!! An extremely disappointing experience and on Valentine's night of all nights. Awful!!!
Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

La Brasserie, Cardiff - review added on Thu 5th Jun 2008

I had a great lunch here the other day. I think they have started a new menu, it has a great selection of things like salads, sandwiches and moules. You can still get steaks but they are expensive. I had a burger which was good value. They also do a lunch offer of £7.95 for two courses.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Caesar Salad, Steak, moules
A Must! - review added on Thu 2nd Oct 2008

You simply must visit this restaurant! The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. The staff were friendly and efficiant and went out of there way to make sure our evening was enjoyable. We will definitely be returning!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 9

Recommended Dishes: King Scallops, Venison



Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor