Food On A Plate




UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews








Original Khushis - Edinburgh, Edinburgh and the Lothians


Description

Khushi's, established in 1947, was the first Indian restaurant in Edinburgh. Recent times have seen many changes at Khushi's, new premises, new cosmopolitan surroundings complimented by new additions to the menu.

Style of food on offer: Cafe / Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Indian / Pakistani
Price Guide: £5.01 - £15.00
Accessibility for disabled: partially accessible - The tables are wheelchair-accessible, but the bathrooms are not.
Bar Facilities: No alcohol served
Smoking policy: Smoking not permitted

Review Summary

Original Khushis has received 29 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):

Overall:6
Food:7.24138
Service:6.48276
Ambiance:7

The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Veg pakora, lamb bhuna original lamb bhuna lamb bhuna chicken jalfrezei fish pakora, original lamb bhuna lamb karahi aubergine curry, fish curry fish pakora, lamb bhuna, fish curry, whole chicken chicken karahi dahl makhani lamb karahi, very berry smoothie Curds Pakora, Lamb Madras NOTHING Poppadoms and spicy onnions, Lamb Jalfrezi, Chicken Korma. None lamb karahi, butter chicken and def no.1-Prawn Muckani-mouthwateringly delicious None Starter Chicken Strips the lamb bhuna of course All the food is recomended

Address and Contact Details

9 Victoria Street
Old Town
Edinburgh
Edinburgh and the Lothians
Scotland
EH1 2HE

Telephone: 0131 220 0057
Website: Click here
Menu page: Click here
Opening Hours: Mon- Fri 12.00 - 23.00 Sun 17.00 - 23.00

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  American Express

Seating capacity: 120 with a largest party size of 20
Dress code: Casual

Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for Original Khushis - Edinburgh

Edinburgh's Finest - review added on Mon 26th Jul 2004

Khushi's is a well known name in Edinburgh and is surely worth a visit. My favorites have to be the veg pakora followed by the spicy lamb once tried never forgotten. I have eaten at this restaurant for many years as have many of its regulars,in its new premises at Potterrow it has a new cosmopolitan feel which adds to great evening. Book in advance; it gets busy!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Pakora and Lamb to Die for - review added on Sat 7th Aug 2004

If you like veg pakora and you like lamb bhuna you will love Khushis. It is a must for eating in Edinburgh.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: veg pakora, lamb bhuna
Getting It Right - review added on Tue 19th Oct 2004

Amazing - when Khushis went upmarket (a bit) without compromising the quality of its traditional food or poncing it up - suddenly lots of other places open in the neghbourhood offering similar (not quite as good) choices. Shows what a good idea it was. Real food - no tricks.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: original lamb bhuna
Khushi's - Braw - review added on Tue 22nd Nov 2005

Chust sublime!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: lamb bhuna
Best in Edinburgh - review added on Fri 6th Jan 2006

Love it love it love it! Really great food - almost the entire menu. Not expensive but very light and clean surroundings.
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: chicken jalfrezei
Fish Pakora, Who Would Have Thought? - review added on Wed 1st Feb 2006

I absolutely love Khushis. Since trying it about 2 years ago no other Indian has come close. I've given up trying anywhere else!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: fish pakora, original lamb bhuna
You pay too much to be insulted! - review added on Sun 28th May 2006

At the beginning I must say that the food in this restaurant is authentic and delicious indeed, but the service is as bad as you can imagine. They are only interested in customers that will order in a second, eat like they are in race, and leave in no time clearing the table for the next customers.They have no respect for people with disabilities. The waiter refused to talk to my blind friend and kept asking me for her order and I kept asking him to ask her!

Conclusion? If you are desperate for the food, go there, but you will pay too much to be insulted. I predict that they will lose their customers soon because of their growing reputation of bad waitering and greediness for money, unless they change.

Overall: 2
Food: 10
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

Nothing but Praise - review added on Sun 17th Sep 2006

I only have praise for Khushis. The food is arguably the best I have tasted and the service has always been excellent...extremely helpful but non-intrusive. I can only say on behalf of my friends who are regulars that we will come back and keep on returning.

The only problem is: what will happen to our waistline?

It won't be our wallets that suffer because apart from the brilliant prices we can bring our own booze...a winner every time as far as I am concerned.

And by the way, I am disabled and have never been ignored at khushis.

[Ed. Note: Ratings have been removed from this review, in favor of the updated ratings submitted by the same person in a review dated 04 Sep. 2007.]


Khushis for Quality - review added on Mon 15th Jan 2007

Went to Khushis on Victoria Street twice in one week it was so good. Not a penny has been spared on the new venue and the food and service is top notch and can't be faulted. The veggie options are fab and the fish curries are worth going for. The staff are fantastic and extremely attentive plus you won't break the bank and it's BYOB. The vibe on a Saturday night is also fantastic - real party atmosphere and fun!I strongly recommend it!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: aubergine curry, fish curry
Simply the Best - review added on Thu 12th Apr 2007

I've been a regular at Khushis since 1977, eating there as often as I possibly can. When the restaurant moved to Potterrow I was apprehensive but the extended menu and comfortable environment was a huge improvement. The new premises are stunning and the food even better - all the old favourites plus loads more tempting dishes to try. I have recommended this over and over again and wouldn't go anywhere else for a curry! Try the smoothies, they're delicious.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: fish pakora, lamb bhuna, fish curry, whole chicken
Best Indian Restaurant in Edinburgh - review added on Wed 23rd May 2007

I am seeing a common vein here and I cannot help but contribute to the same.

Stunning, fantastic, impressive!

If you have never tried Indian food but decide to give it a go just once...then try here. You will be impressed with everything from the delicious food, the courteous service and the bright and vibrant surroundings. And as for your decision to try Indian food once, you will forget about that particular promise to yourself and will return again and again.

Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: chicken karahi
Sinking into Sad Deterioration? - review added on Mon 18th Jun 2007

I had been to Khushis several times since moving to Edinburgh in 2005. Each time the food had been excellent, complemented by attentive staff and welcoming atmosphere.

I am afraid that the staff now make a night at Khushis just plain awful.

And further to previous entries others have made, I have no business/personal gripe, jealousy or bitchiness. In fact, I have never been incited to write a bad word about any establishment, preferring the "perhaps it was a bad night"option. I do, however, have a sense that good food (which Khushis does provide) is best enjoyed in a pleasant surroundings. After my recent terrible experience at Khushi's I must condemn the complete rudeness I encountered.

A train delay meant my friends and I were 15 minutes late on arrival, for which we apologised. (I might add my friends had come down from London and I had been singing Khushis praises.) Whilst the person at the entrance warmly welcomed us, we were tersely advised by the next person that our booking would have been lost. I fully acknowledge that we were late and that we could have lost our booking. It was the next comment "You need to tell us next time. That is, if you ever come back..."which heralded a night of rudeness unsurpassed in 35 years of dining.

Like the previous entry, we were made to feel as if we must choose and eat and run on a conveyor belt. Our waiter seemed preoccupied and told us we could not share meals. This was later taken back and his demeanour smoothly altered when he realised our order was of a series of 3 larger and 7 smaller dishes for a table of 6, rather than, perhaps, a misinterpreted shared single naan.

It was after the meal, when my partner went outside for a cigarette that the worst was to come. After moving away from the entrance, as would be expected, he was standing chatting to another friend. He was then thrown onto the pavement by the bouncer of Khushis (Is it because of ongoing rudeness that they need a bouncer for a restaurant?). Both my partner and friend were completely shocked by this behaviour. They advised they were not near the entrance and had been chatting to the bouncer previously.

But I did not see this as I was paying for the meals upstairs. (And with a tip, which I now regret!)

After hearing the consternation of my partner and friend at this treatment, I asked for explanation. I was a little sceptical that such an incident was unprovoked and wanted to confirm what had transpired. He grinned and said he had thrown my partner through a glass window across the street. I begged his pardon and he repeated this comment. Completely thrown by this somewhat bizarre response I said this was completely out of order and that this left a distinctly bad impression of the establishment.

To which, the bouncer advised that Khushis had no interest in my concerns.

In summary - food is good, but there are many,many lovely places in Edinburgh that will provide good food and still make for a lovely night out. Why waste your time with Khushis?

Overall: 2
Food: 8
Service: 2
Ambiance: 2

Recommended Dishes: dahl makhani
Great Curry, but You're Just Cattle to the Staff - review added on Sat 25th Aug 2007

I had a very disappointing experience in this restaurant tonight. Showing up with 6 people we were told that we could have a table but only for an hour as it was booked after then. We were in a hurry anyway...it was perfect.

However, it took at least 30 minutes for the food to arrive and the concierge took a hissy fit at us for taking longer than we promised (5 minutes past the hour we were given).

Given that I have been a regular for over 5 years now... this is absolutely not the kind of behaviour I will tolerate.

I quote the concierge saying "If you don't want to come back, then don't come back."I don't believe I will, which is a shame as the food really is quite good.

Overall: 2
Food: 8
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

I've Been a Customer for 30 Years and Have Never Seen Bad Behaviour from Staff - review added on Tue 4th Sep 2007

I started going to Khushi's when I was a child, taken there on our visits to our dad. I suppose I connect Khushis to happy times and would be devastated if something ruined that.

I have read the previous posts and find it hard to believe these people were treated that way. It is beyond reasonable behaviour and totally unacceptable...so...how come it is one of the busiest restaurants in Edinburgh and everyone I know who have been there come back with glowing reports?

If [the negative reports were] the case, Khushis would not be in business. Instead it is the oldest Indian restaurant in Edinburgh. Go figure!

Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: lamb karahi, very berry smoothie
Home from home - review added on Fri 14th Sep 2007

I've been eating at Khushis for 34 years - since I was 8. I've watched their family grow up as I have also grown up. I love curries in general, but Khushis is special. I can vouch that the quality of their food has been of the same high standard over all this time, so for me a visit to Khushis is like coming home. It's unique and not like any other curry I've ever tasted. They are right when they mention the difference with the marination - it tastes heavenly.It's great to see Khushis go from strength to strength. All the best, Khushis!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: Curds Pakora, Lamb Madras
Khushis - Hated it - review added on Fri 28th Sep 2007

We went for a meal due to all the fab reviews.

I thought it was an awful experience. Firstly they put two pompadoms on our table and asked if we would like to buy some condiments to go with them, which was a bit naughty. Then they charged us £4.50 extortion!! At least I had the lime pickle to eat with my bland curry!

Then we ordered our food, one meal was not what we ordered! So 10 minutes later the correct dish arrived, meanwhile the rice and naan bread was cold, as was the other dish, whilst we waited to eat together.

It was very hot and I had a coughing and sneezing fit, due to a sizzler plate that had a terrible smoke and smell being delivered at the next table, it took over 15 minutes to see clear air again.

I have had much better Indian food from a supermarket, there was not much taste in either of our meals, found them very bland.

It was very noisy and very crammed tables.

Not one person asked us if we enjoyed our meal, otherwise I would have told them what I thought of everything.

We will vote with our feet by not going back.

Overall: 2
Food: 0
Service: 8
Ambiance: 4

Recommended Dishes: NOTHING
My Favouite Edinburgh Restaurant - review added on Fri 28th Sep 2007

When my girlfriend moved to Edinburgh to study I was looking forward to trying the many eating places in the city but unfortunatly Khusis has spoiled this plan. We discovered it by chance when it was nearby in Potterow and the combination of great service and excellent food has meant that now any time we eat out , we go there. Even now when it's in Victoria Street we walk round passing at least two dozen other eating places so we get to our favourite.

Poppadoms with spicy onions and mango chutney are a must. If you're hungry get some Pakora but ask for the meat sauce which regulars know about.

My girlfriend always has the chicken Korma but I always have a problem deciding what to have as I have many I like but would recommened the Lamb Jalfrezi simply to see how tender Lamb can be cooked.

The mango Lassi is another thing to try but be warned it is rather filling after a couyle of courses.

It's bring your own wine/beer with no corkage charge so feel free to indulge with your favourite tipple.

Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: Poppadoms and spicy onnions, Lamb Jalfrezi, Chicken Korma.
Great food, terrible service. - review added on Fri 30th Nov 2007

The night started really well, staff were friendly and food was amazing. I totally agree with comments referred to of "cattle market". Immediately after we finished our mains we were asked if we would like coffee or desserts. We then asked if we could have 10 minutes to let our food digest. This seemed fine until another waiter came over and asked the very same question shortly after. When given the same response he walked away then promptly placed our bill on the table. We placed our bank card on the table to pay for the unasked for bill and waited while we finished our wine, only to be interrupted by one of the rudest waiters I have ever encountered who announced that "we need your table back". On explaining that we had been waiting for quite some time to pay our bill we were met with exactly the same cold response "we need your table". Needless to say no tip was left and we won't be going back. Real shame as the food was fab.
Overall: 4
Food: 10
Service: 4
Ambiance: 6

Awful - review added on Wed 9th Jan 2008

The chicken fell apart when I tried to put it on my fork. We were later informed by the manager that all food was precooked in the morning - we were there 10pm! Service slow and unprofessional. Good decor but appalling food-they have their focus on the wrong thing.

The manager sat behind the counter talking to his friends on the phone all night instead of seeing that the restaurant was smoothly run.

Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: None
Birthday to remember - review added on Thu 21st Feb 2008

Our party have just had the best Indian meal EVER!!I was taken there for my birthday and we were shown to a private alcove with a beautiful long table with the most amazing chandelier that runs the whole length of it...couldn't keep my eyes off the twinkling crystal all night.We ordered a mass of dishes and tucked in to what I can only describe as gastronomic heaven.Unlike others on the page, the staff were courteous and even got the whole restaurant to sing happy birthday to me(instigated by my friends of course) when they brought over my cake, beautifully decorated with candles and spun sugar by the waiter My guess is if the staff are really that bad, and I didn't see any sign of it, the patrons would not be inclined to join in the festivities at the waiters request.And btw it was really busy and that was on a Tues.Anyway we will be voting with our feet and have already booked my parents anniversary.One of the things I like about Khushis is you can go there for any occasion no matter how grand, or you can nip in for a bite to eat when you are feeling your scruffiest...it doesn't matter due to the pleasant atmosphere and attitude of the staff.I especially like the guy at the reception desk, I think his name was Islam and he had a great sense of humour...your restaurant is BRILL!!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: lamb karahi, butter chicken and def no.1-Prawn Muckani-mouthwateringly delicious
Rude staff - review added on Mon 25th Feb 2008

I went to the restaurant at lunchtime to try to book a table for that evening. The member of staff on reception was extremely rude - answered our request with a 'No' and then proceeded to act as if we weren't there and spoke to some people who had come in behind us. I have never before experienced such rudeness.
Overall: 2
Food: 0
Service: 2
Ambiance: 4

Recommended Dishes: None
What an Insult - review added on Mon 31st Mar 2008

Atmosphere was quite quiet for a Saturday night. We were not able to book beforehand being told they were fully booked - but when we arrived it was half empty. Food was good, one waiter was polite, but after spending so much in there we were even charged for the dips - although we didn't ask for them!!! To sum it up, they just want your money because I queried about the £4.50 dip charge and the response was "Nothings free in here love"; what an insult!
Overall: 4
Food: 6
Service: 4
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Starter Chicken Strips
Still the best tasting lamb but the service? Poor - review added on Tue 1st Apr 2008

My family have eaten at Khushi's for at least 40yrs and we still love the veggie pakora (with original sauce of course!) and the lamb bhuna. Have to say though, that since the move to Victoria Street, the service is poor. Main course is practically put down whilst taking starter plates away and you really are rushed on. It's very rude to start clearing away one persons empty plate when others are still eating. Don't think I'll be going back but will definitely stick to a carry out as the lamb is so worth it!!!
Overall: 4
Food: 10
Service: 6
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: the lamb bhuna of course
Puka Traditional and Nuvo Pack' Cuisine - review added on Fri 4th Apr 2008

Edinburgh's finest food from the sub continent... no other Indian/Pakistani restaurant comes close to meeting the standards that this family run business has maintained for decades....
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: All the food is recomended
Terrible - review added on Sat 27th Oct 2007

We were a party of six and all agreed that the food was terrible and the service very poor. It is a restaurant that is just not trying any more.
Overall: 1
Food: 2
Service: 3
Ambiance: 3

AWFUL SERVICE,OVERPRICED AND POOR MANNERS - review added on Mon 2nd Jun 2008

What more can i say...we arrived there sunday afternoon after booking a table just a few hours before hand.Waited at the desk to be seated which took 10 mins - too long considering there were only a handful of people eating. Finally we were seated.Again it took a further 15 mins to order drinks.By this time we had already decided what to order.The food arrived,and we were extremely dissapointed.The chicken biryani was full of spices which clearly had just been thrown in and not cooked properly;the chicken kebab was a disgrace-1 long kebab cut into tinly morsels to make the platter appear fuller.The daal was waterly and tasteless.my 4 year old son commneted on the quality of teh food.This restaurant is far from AUTHENTIC,considering the chef is from Scotland.The Manager (Altaf) wasnt very helpful.He didnt discount our order or provide any complimentary snacks.I would rather go my local takeaway then come here!Lastly i think its way overpriced.
Overall: 4
Food: 3
Service: 5
Ambiance: 5

Recommended Dishes: NONE!!!
OFFENSIVE BEHAVIOUR - GREEDY PEOPLE - review added on Mon 2nd Jun 2008

Food was cold, late and tasteless. Oh and my rice had a hair in it!!! Waiter was insulting and asked if we could eat faster as the table was booked in an hour, which we werent advised of when booking. They overcharged us and then didnt even have the decency to apologise. The Manager came across and claimed that there had been a bill mixup. Again no apology. There are so many beautiful and friendlier indian restaurants in Edin where you can go. I would never go there again!!!
Overall: 1
Food: 1
Service: 1
Ambiance: 2

APPALLING SERVICE - DO NOT GO! - review added on Mon 23rd Jun 2008

Before i start i have to say that this is completely true. Me and my friends are sensible, non-aggressive and polite young ladies who eat out often at nice restaurants, just incase you think we are young yobs! Our table was booked for 9 with us arriving 5 minutes before. We were then told to sit in the waiting area 'for a few minutes' as our table was not ready. As we were getting seated in the waiting area a table chanted 'Ogi Ogi Ogi' once, rather loudly but you could see they were enjoying themselves and were not causing hassle to other customers. However, the owner went over and proceeded to throw the table out. They gave him a bit of hassle which resulted in him calling security. This obviously annoyed him, so much so that when 2 of my friends laughed at a joke, loudly but not very and only once, while we were still waiting on our table that he came over and warned us that we must be quiet when we get seated at our table. One of the girls asked if we had done something wrong to make him say that, to which the owner then told us to LEAVE for giving 'ATTITUDE'! I assure you that these were the actual events, there was no swearing, raising of voices or 'attitude', justing asking a question as we had actually not done a thing wrong! This was simply because of the trouble he had just had with the other table! The owner is extremely rude and does not care about his customers. Had we had an adult with us or were adults ourselves this would not have happened, we were all 22 year old, young looking girls and he knew he could easily tell us to leave, just to make himself feel better. He would not have treated an adult in the same manner. If you want to go somewhere to have a good evening, this is not the place. No laughing is allowed or cheering, you get told off for that as we saw a birthday party getting a talking too. They want you to eat, take your money then leave. I had previously eaten here with my boyfriend, the food was good but the staff and service was not, so they obviously don't regard customer service highly. The atmosphere on that occasion was also non-existent, although there were several tables they were all very quiet (must have been all the regulars who knew the rules) - this is obviously NOT a happy place to dine and i would highly recommened that you DO NOT GO HERE! I certainly won't be going back
Overall: 1
Food: 1
Service: 1
Ambiance: 1

Recommended Dishes: Don't waste you're time and money!
Poor Khushi's is no more, - review added on Sun 28th Dec 2008

A massive fire which commenced in the back roof area eventually spread and demolished this the best Khushi building yet. The morning brought sad vieew of a smoudering shell. How will Mr Mohammed and his family recover from this tragedy? Having known them since around 1965, my heart goes out to them and their staff and other long termers like myself. Yet - this is a review, and I have to say I have been torn for 6 years or more between my love of the old Khusi food ( from Drummond Street days and before) and the new cusine. But to be fair, which it is not quite the same, it has always tasted wonderful. I must also admit that I am myself a repository of OLD Kushi recipes especially for the old Chicken on the bone. I know what's in it, but I don't know exactly what is in the old Lamb Bhuna- but I am nearly there. And I serve my wife up Khushi style Brinjal, and also their spinach with potato, quite often. So- Oh for the wonderful old days when Ahmed served, and earlier when Margaret came with your food, a smile and a chirpy comment was not added to the bill. So good luck Khusi's and I pray we will see them back soon. Ian Dick
Overall: 9
Food: 9
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Lamb Curry. Lamb Kahari.



Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor