Food On A Plate




UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews








Boston Tea Party - Bristol, Bristol


Description

Sorry, no description available for Boston Tea Party.

Style of food on offer: International
Accessibility for disabled: not accessible
Smoking policy: Smoking section

Review Summary

Boston Tea Party has received 13 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):

Overall:6
Food:6.69231
Service:6.84615
Ambiance:8.15385

The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Wraps poached eggs

Address and Contact Details

75 Park Street
Clifton
Bristol
Bristol
England
BS1 5PF

Telephone: (0117) 929 8601
Opening Hours: tue-sat 7am-10pm; sun 9am-7pm; mon 7am-6pm

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  Cheques
  Visa
  Diners' Club
  MasterCard/Eurocard
  Discover
  Carte Blanche
  EnRoute


Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for Boston Tea Party - Bristol

Sociable, Friendly and Interesting - review added on Sun 28th Mar 2004

Boston Tea Party is a vaguely Bohemian Coffee shop in the Centre of Bristol in Park Street, which is the main student area of the city.The walls are always covered in something interesting, whether it is work by a fashion student from the Univerity or alternative art.Their staff are friendly, polite and helpful and make fantastic drinks. Whether you want somewhere to have a coffee and read your paper, chat with your friends over cake or a good meal, Boston Tea Party is a good place to go.
Overall: 10
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Perfect at Any Time of Day - review added on Thu 13th May 2004

From brilliant breakfasts (like muesli) to a varied lunch menu to dinner it's a wonderful place to eat or just hang out and have brilliant coffee or tea. And you can literally hang out there for hours at a time. Wonderful atmosphere
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Getting Worse by the Minute - review added on Fri 8th Oct 2004

Y'know - I'd love to love this place - it has all the right bits - fair trade, good menu, friendly, interesting staff and a big garden...Only anywhere that can, consistently, take around 15 minutes to make a latte, even on not very busy mornings, just cannot be recommended... Add to this the demise of the almond croissant from one comparable to real French ones to a vaguely almond scented stodge and they are in trouble.On several occasions I've been forced up the hill to Pret, or, shudder, to the Starbucks in Borders, and today was the last straw - wait 15 minutes for a soya latte, to be told "We're out of soya milk, would you mind waiting while we pop to the shop?"Like I said, I want to love it, but folks - please stop making me late for work!
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 6
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: wraps
Sorry but They Didn't Like It - review added on Mon 24th Jan 2005

I organised a breakfast meeting at this venue and was most displeased when those attending reported back that it seemed to be a rather odd place to go with almost vegetarian breakfasts being offered. The sausages that did come were not very nice and tasted odd. Many of the party didn't actually get their coffee that they ordered and the meals in general took 45 minutes to arrive. All in all I cannot recommend it and won't be booking it again in a hurry.
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 6
Ambiance: 4

Boston Tea Party Rocks - review added on Wed 23rd Feb 2005

Faced with so many (small and large scale) charmless corporate options on the Park Street and Triangle stretch of Bristol, this place is a true blessing. A laid back, quietly relaxing atmosphere, helpful staff who always seem to manage a smile and a chat, and a menu that is varied and good quality all make The Boston a valuable alternative to Starbucks and the like.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: poached eggs
Boston Tea Party, Life Saver - review added on Thu 17th Mar 2005

Boston Tea Party is always the must to be, the staff are really friendly and are always up for a bit of harmless banter. It is really relaxing, and a good place to be. Loving Boston Tea Party every one.
Overall: 8
Food: 6
Service: 8
Ambiance: 10

The Only Coffee Shop in Bristol Open at 6am - review added on Tue 26th Apr 2005

Nuff said!
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Thorn in the Side of Corporate Bristol - review added on Wed 22nd Mar 2006

The Boston Tea Party is a terrific independent coffee house. Located on the top of Park Street, many of its customers are students or otherwise Bohemian types. During the warmer months, the beautiful garden comes alive. One gets a sense that this is where the action takes place. To use the Turkish proverb, the coffee is black as hell, strong as death and as sweet as love.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 10

Worst Service Ever - review added on Sat 23rd Sep 2006

Like a previous reviewer, I would also love to love this place. But on the few occasions I have been there I have had cold tea, waited over 15 minutes in a queue of 3 for 2 drinks whilst one guy whizzed around heating milk and another girl stood at the till with a bored expression on her face until a bloke she knew came in and miraculously got served before the rest of us. I tried to go in one evening at ten past eight, through the exceptionally open wide front door to be greeted with an exceptionally cold 'we're closed'! Then shut the bloody doors! Everything about the place is great but the malaise of the staff is so offputting I'd rather go to Starbucks across the road - where they can handle a mid morning rush, and by that I mean a queue of twenty, not a queue of three!
Overall: 2
Food: 6
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

A lovely place - review added on Sun 6th May 2007

The main reason i love it there so much is the opening times8pm everday except sundays. Nice atmoshpere and lots of sitting.
Overall: 8
Food: 4
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

You Have to try it - review added on Sun 7th Oct 2007

Good food. Well done to the kitchen manager.
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Poor Service, Cold food and Sooo Slow - review added on Mon 29th Oct 2007

Went there Sunday morning for breakfast. Got in there at about 10.45 and ordered. Got our coffees and took a seat, it was pretty busy. Drank our coffees and waited....and waited.... ok so it was busy but most people on a sunday morning are going to be eating a breakfast aren't they, surely they are mainly cooking the same things. I watched people going up to the counter and asking where their food was, had they been forgotten, I hadn't actually seen any food come out of the kitchen for ages. I also watched the guy who was taking the food out go upstairs, out in the garden (it was raining so not sure that anyone would be sitting out there) and then finally to the front of the cafe to give a couple their food. This was not looking good, still I was soooo hungry, I wasn't going to give up now. I saw 2 breakfasts appear on the counter and thought, ok, they must be ours, saw the waiter take them upstairs, back downstairs, I wasn't going to watch him disappear into the garden so intercepted him and asked if they were ours. yes they were - thank god !!! 11.55, it had only taken just over 50 minutes. Thanks but please can you get us some knives cos there aren't any. I'll check upstairs for you. He went upstairs then carried on serving other people. I went up to the counter - excuse me - there aren't any knives. oh, they are just going in now... going in where i wondered ?? sat back down expecting a couple of knives to be brought over, started eating with the fork.couple of minutes later - back up to the counter - excuse me but I don't have a knife, i can't eat my breakfast and it's going cold. oh, they've just gone in the dishwasher she shrugged, gave me a couple of wooden knives and said - I know it's not very satisfactory but, shrugged again.I took them, ate most of my now cold breakfast with a metal fork and wooden knife absolutely fuming and left without complaining because my boyfriend "just wanted to get out of there".
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

Sloooooooooowwwwwwwww - review added on Wed 16th May 2007

Great place with absolutely diabolical staff. Totally agree with others that the staff are on ultra slow time. In addition from the looks on some of their faces the "clue-o-meter" is reading zero. Witless. Combined with the fact it is NOT cheap makes this place a no no.
Overall: 2
Food: 7
Service: 1
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Anything you don't mind waiting for



Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor