Food On A Plate




UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews








Al's Tikka Grill - Bristol, Bristol


Description

Sorry, no description available for Al's Tikka Grill.

Style of food on offer: Indian / Pakistani
Price Guide: £5.01 - £15.00
Accessibility for disabled: partially accessible - No toilet access

Review Summary

Al's Tikka Grill has received 12 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):

Overall:7.33333
Food:8
Service:7.41667
Ambiance:6.25

The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Chicken Jalfreizi Lamb vindaloo or phal Vegetable malaya Chicken Jalfreizi Jalfrezi Lamb tikka massala.

Address and Contact Details

33 Ashton Road
Ashton
Bristol
Bristol
England
BS3 2EG

Telephone: 01179 853016
Opening Hours: mon-fri 5.30-10.30pm
sat 5.30-11pm

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  Bank Debit Cards
  American Express
  Visa
  Diners' Club
  MasterCard/Eurocard

Dress code: Casual

Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for Al's Tikka Grill - Bristol

AL's is Great - review added on Mon 3rd Dec 2001

The food is wicked and that's what counts!Go there - you'll love it!
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 6
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Chicken Jalfreizi
The greatest Indian cuisine in the South West - review added on Thu 24th Oct 2002

Al's tikka grill has a great selection of dishes at bargain prices. Wash down with a couple of tins of special brew and you'll be in for one of the greatest nights of your life.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Lamb vindaloo or phal
2 Als Tikka Grills? - review added on Mon 15th Dec 2003

Can't say I recognise the place from the other descriptions. The night I went the food was very average, service slow, and the "restaurant"(it's really a greasy spoon cafe) cramped and noisy. I've never been back...
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 6
Ambiance: 2

The Best Curry House. - review added on Fri 21st May 2004

Ever since I moved to Ashton I have been a fan of Al's. I think I have probably been there over 200 times in the last 4 years and I am far from alone. The place is full of familiar faces, people like me who recognise that, OK, it may not have the most extravagent decor or even an inside toilet, but that is very much part of the charm.It is, I am quite sure, the best curry you will ever have. Of all the times I have been there only once have I had a curry that I would not descibe as excellant. A pretty impressive track record.Anyway I'm off to Al's for a cuzza. See you there!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Excellent for veggies! - review added on Tue 1st Jun 2004

Al's is fantastic in general but in particular it offers a choice beyond belief for vegetarians. The only problem for me is I actually have to decide what I want, rather than select from just veggie korma or veggie madras. Be brave and go for curry with bananas or pineapple. You will not regret it! Great value for money!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: Vegetable malaya
Scrumptious - review added on Sun 14th Nov 2004

This small gem in the Southville area is a god send! While the surrounding area is slowly being taken over by the 'trendies', Al's a refreshing change. It has a cosy and relaxed atmosphere, the food is a real treat and the staff are superb!
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Review added on Thu 18th Nov 2004

Al's is great, the interesting decor is part of the charm and anyone who expects luxurious surroundings when you are paying a few quid for each course, needs their head read! if you only like swish and swanky its not for you. Al's serves great curry in a comfortable atmosphere, with good service.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

I like it! - review added on Thu 12th Jan 2006

There is nothing bad to say about Al's. Food is great, and service is to!
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Chicken Jalfreizi
Top Ruby - review added on Fri 17th Feb 2006

Taking me Mum and Dad there on Saturday. Can't say fairer than that. It's the closest thing to a proper Brummie Balti house I've found outside of that fair city.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 6
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Jalfrezi
Lovely naan. - review added on Fri 8th Dec 2006

On a whim and after hearing a few good reviews about this local curry haunt, we rang up at 6.30 on a Friday night and managed to get a table for 6 at 8.00, no problem. It's a BYO, £1.75 per head for your booze, and our meal came to £50 for the 6 of us (we all left full). Good service, basic but clean interior, but best of all, a good menu and freshly made food. Our naan breads were hot from the oven and very very good. 2 veggies at the table and the rest enthusiastic carnivores, all taken care of and satisfied. One member of the party is a Dudley born and bred ruthless curry connoisseur who deigned to comment that the meal was 'pretty good'. Enough said.
Overall: 6
Food: 6
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Lamb tikka massala.
Review added on Fri 1st Feb 2008

Fourteen of us booked to go to this restaurant. We had really been looking forward to it as the reviews and personal recommendations were excellent. The service was poor, some of the food was barely tepid, and the chicken tikka birani inedible. Four of our group said their food was satisfactory - but not nearly as good as expected - three said it was poor and the rest said passable, but none of us would recommend it to anyone or go there again. Complaints to the staff fell on deaf ears. I am left wondering why we had such a bad experience?
Overall: 2
Food: 3
Service: 2
Ambiance: 2

Great food lovely people - review added on Sat 31st May 2008

als is the best in town you can see through to the kitchen when they are prepareing and cooking your food
Overall: 8
Food: 9
Service: 7
Ambiance: 5

Recommended Dishes: chicken tikka masala



Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor